The president is the chief executive officer of the University of Tennessee system, which includes campuses at Knoxville, Chattanooga, and Martin as well as the Health Science Center in Memphis. The president’s responsibilities also include oversight of UT’s statewide institutes of agriculture and public service and the Space Institute at Tullahoma.

The Office of the President is located in Knoxville on the campus of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

The president is appointed by and is an ex officio member of the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees. All UT vice presidents and chancellors report to the president.

Jane Pullum is administrative assistant to the president. Other staff members are Carla Sharp, Betty Tinker and Pam Warwick.

Keith Carver is Executive Assistant to the president. Gina Stafford is the media contact for the president.