On June 21, 2019, the UT Board of Trustees approved the re-unification of the UT Institute of Agriculture (UTIA) with UT Knoxville to elevate the impact and reputation of UTIA and UT Knoxville in relation to other leading and globally competitive research institutions.


Working Groups
Five groups commissioned to enhance collaboration between UT Knoxville and UTIA, and solve problems that may arise as reunification efforts move forward. These areas include: student services, research, academic affairs and shared governance, communications and marketing, and finance and administrative processes.


Committee Report
Download the reunification team’s report on stakeholder input and participant surveys and share your feedback


Brainstorming Sessions
List of online and in-person community forums and listening sessions to generate ideas for UTIA.


Frequently Asked Questions
Questions (and answers) drafted in June 2019 to communicate among stakeholders and the public.


UTIA-UTK Land-grant Unification Team


UT System

  • Linda Martin, Vice President, Academic Affairs and Student Success (team lead)
  • Carey Whitworth, Assistant Vice President, Government Relations


UT Institute of Agriculture

  • Keith Barber, Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement
  • Dave Fugate, Eastern Region Advisory Council member
  • Andrea Ludwig, Associate Professor, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science
  • Bonnie Ownley, Professor/Graduate Director, Soilborne Plant Pathology and Biological Control
  • Elizabeth Strand, Director, Veterinary Social Work
  • Ty Wolaver, Student, Food and Agricultural Business
  • Hongwei Xin. Dean, UT AgResearch


UT Knoxville

  • Misty Anderson, Professor, English
  • Paul Armsworth, Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Chris Cox, Department Head, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Shea Kidd Houz, Dean of Students
  • John Zomchick, Vice Provost. Faculty Affairs



If you have additional ideas or comments, please contact Linda C. Martin at lcmartin@tennessee.edu.